The 2009 Gibbs Award Dinner
Presented by the Chicago Section
of the American Chemical Society

Gibbs Medal Awardee:
Professor Louis Brus
Louis Brus
Samuel Latham Mitchill Professor of Chemistry
Columbia University
New York

“Benjamin Franklin and J. W. Gibbs”

Date:  Friday, May 15, 2009
Location:    Lincolnshire Marriott
Lincolnshire, IL 60561
6:00 pm Reception
7:00 pm Dinner
8:30 pm Presentation

Register on line

Introducing Professor Brus:  Mark Ratner, Northwestern University

Presentation of the medal:  Joe Francisco, President-Elect, American Chemical Society

Cost:  $50.00 for members of ACS and their guests,
     $25 for students, unemployed or retired members of the Chicago Local Section

Gibbs Medal, front side

The History of the Willard Gibbs Award

Gibbs Medal, back side

The Citation:

For his leading role in the creation of chemical quantum dots.   Brus’ work led to a general understanding of how semiconductor nanocrystals, with increasing size, evolve electronically into bulk semiconductors.  His group developed the basic models, mechanisms, and methods for nanocrystal synthesis, processing, and characterization that are widely used today.
Acceptance Address: 
“Benjamin Franklin and J. W. Gibbs”

Benjamin Franklin and Josiah Williard Gibbs were both revolutionary American Scientists. Their backgrounds, personalities, approaches to science and personal lives could not have been more different. I will discuss the men and their science in this short after-dinner talk.

Biographical Sketch of Professor Louis Brus:   

Lou Brus has a BA from Rice University and a PhD from Columbia University, both in Chemical Physics.   As a Lieutenant in the U. S. Navy, he worked in the solid state and chemistry divisions of the Naval Research Laboratory in Washington DC.  In 1973 he joined the research area of Bell Laboratories in Murray Hill, NJ, where he became Distinguished Member of Technical Staff.   He returned to Columbia in 1996, where he is now S. L. Mitchill Professor of Chemistry.  He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, and in 1998 was the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Gordon Conferences.   In the 1980s he pioneered research in colloidal semiconductor nanocrystals exhibiting quantum size effects.  He has won the APS Langmuir Prize, the ACS Chemistry of Materials Prize, and the OSA Wood Prize.  In 2008 he received the first Kavli Prize in Nanoscience.   His present interests include carbon nanotubes and graphene, transition metal oxide nanocrystals, and chemical applications of local electromagnetic fields.

Directions and Map to the Marriott Lincolnshire

Please note recent additions to menu --



Updated 5/13/09